Quinoa gone Wrong; Shrimp Salsa gone Right

So the title SusyHomeMaker might imply that I am, in fact, a homemaker, which I am not, or that I’m crafty, which I am not, or that I whip up delicious family meals easily and graciously. I do not.

But alas, I do TRY. Actually one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to make at least 1 new recipe a week. While I haven’t really stuck to that -or lets be real, any– resolution all that much, every once in a while I will try something new.

I had bought a box of Quinoa a while back and had been wanting to make it since I heard such great things about Quinoa like it has the most protein of any grain and is obviously much better for you than pasta or rice. Also, it’s a great source for minerals and vitamins and its gluten free.

I got a recipe for Quinoa with Asparagus and Preserved Lemon Dressing from my Pinterest Food Board. It’s originally from my girl  Martha Stewart.

Doesn’t she look yummy?

Well mine didn’t exactly turn out the same way. For starters, I didn’t even attempt the Preserved Lemon Dressing because it required lemons that had been perserved for 2 days and then some. For the record, I think the dressing would be delicious.

Here’s how I did it:

Steamed 1 lb of Asparagus and then placed it on a bed of ice

1 cup of Quinoa

Chopped up 1 red onion (insert tears)

Combined the Quinoa and the onions in a large skillet with oil

Added 2 cups of water and brought it to a boil.

I was then supposed to reduce the heat and cover the skillet and let it simmer for 5 minutes.

Usually when a reciepe comes out wrong or different from what I had anticpated, I don’t know where 1 went wrong. In this case, I’m pretty sure I went wrong right here because this particular pan I used doesn’t have a top and so I “covered it” with aluminum foil. Dumb move. It’s really not the same thing but I was trying to imporovise.

In the end I tossed together the asparagus and some pine nuts

And this is how it looked..

Not exactlly this this uh?

I will say this: Even without the preserved lemon dressing (though I did squeeze lemon into it) and even without covering it properly and therefore hindering its potentional..it still didnt taste bad at all. I think once I perfect it, Quinoa and I will get along really well.

You konw what I get along with really well right now, Skinny Shrimp Salsa from Skinny Taste. It’s bacially just tomatoes, onions,  and cilantro then topped with shirmp. We (“we” being our family) usually call this mix “tomatico” while other’s call it Pico de Galo Whatever you call it, it tastes fresh and delicoius and so easy to make.

How glorious does this look?

Mine looks just as good I think! (I left out the peppers)

You can top it over pretty much anything or eat it alone with crackers or chips. Like Gina from Skinny Taste says, the possibilities are endless. Click on the recipe and try it if you haven’t already!

Side note: Although I am not a vegetarian, I just realized that both of these recipes are vegetarian freindly. So there you go, V’s!

Have you guys made any good recipes lately? Any suggestions for one I can try for my next battle in the kitchen?

Let me know!

Bon Appetite!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Looks delicious, Sue! I can’t wait to see what recipe you attempt next week!

    Reply
  2. Jennifer Wylde

     /  May 15, 2012

    I really like the shrimp salsa. it looks easy to make and yummy…right up my alley!! Nice job!

    Reply
    • Thanks! It is very easy..and healthy! I’m actually going to make it again for a special friend this week! 😉

      Hopefully it comes out just as good!

      Reply
  3. I haven’t tried qinoa yet… this recipe looks like a good place to start!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

