Parents and Painting Weekend

 

Hi Blog friends. Hope you all had a nice weekend. (Yes, I know it’s Wednesday. I aimed for Monday but didn’t I make it.) I had a terrible weekend. Or a great weekend. I guess it really depends what angle you look at it from. Fun angle= terrible weekend. Productive angle= great weekend.

Though I am completely exhausted from non-stop house work this weekend, it is nice to look back and see all that was accomplished. I barely have enough energy to write this post so bear with me. (At least when I started it I felt that way. That’s probably why it took me 3 days.)

My weekend started of with some overnight guests…mom and dad! My parents were getting their house tented for termites and they stayed with us Friday night into Saturday.  I was a little apprehensive about how this would work, the four of us, plus the dog, under 1 roof, but it was totally fine. I came home friday afternoon to find my mother had swept up my whole house, although I myself had swept, vacuumed and mopped the night before. She was apparently doing me the favor of hitting up the few spots I obviously missed.

Ah, Mothers.

The next morning I made a big breakfast for everyone, a few rounds of cuban coffee and put everyone to work!

Check out my spanish tortialla with ham, potatoes, onions. Special shout out to my friend Xen for the “reciepe”!

My dad and hubby got to work putting together this super huge and super awesome umbrella we bought for the pool deck. Along with our new chaise lounges, this may become my permanent “spot” all spring and summer long! Check out my dad and hubby testing it out.

Que Buena Vida! (What a good life!)

Looks good, uh? This scene would continue to call my name all weekend though I was never able to enjoy it.

We then proceeded to clear out our dining room so that we could install our West Elm lamp AND paint the dining room and sunken living room.

Empty Dining Room

Sunken Living Room/Staging area

Unlike my picking a gray color fiasco, I wanted a neutral beige for the dining room and got the color right on the first shot. Go me! It’s called Parisian Taupe from Behr. Even the name is fab!

The lamp from West Elm was finally taken out of its box and we then discovered that every single one of what I estimate to be about 300 of the lamp’s crystals were individually packaged and had to be unwrapped. Not sure if that explanation makes sense. Here is the lamp.

See the little hanging crystals? EACH one was wrapped. So I sat there unwrapping and then my mom helped and I swear we were at it for at least 45 minutes. Wow!!

Half way thru unwrapping

Ta da!

Part 1 of the lamp...

Screwing it in...

Look how dang pretty it looks up!!!!

Don't mind the ladder, chair, roller, etc..

Starting to love this room already!

Next we started prepping to paint. Wow, did I forget what a pain in the arse painting is. Prepping, edging, painting, cleaning, repeating steps, etc…

Taping...

Prepping...

Mom’s helping me spackle paste a few holes in the wall. Did these old folks think the rent was free at this hotel?! Nope…get to work, Parentals!

The Dog is really tired from helping out too.

By the time Saturday night rolled around, I felt exhausted and defeated. I only got as far as 1 coat in the dining room plus a 2nd coat on one wall.

Painting, Painting, Painting...

Though it was St. Patricks Day, I consumed NO beer & wore NO green.

😦

I did, however, manage to sneak in some wine (of course I did). Just a girl, her painting tools and some vino on a Saturday night.

 

Sunday I got up and got right back to it! More painting!  My poor hubby got sick somewhere along the way and was laying down with a cold most of the day as I persevered on and continued painting ( I like to make myself sound like Joan of Arc or something uh? Settle down there with the sensationalism, Susy).

Luckily, my hubby felt better later and helped me finish up the other room. I had bought enough paint for 4 different rooms and even thought we worked all weekend, I barely got thru two rooms. My goals were apparently too ambitous.

And *don’t* think it was an ugly weekend outside, either! It was beautiful and sunny and totally beach or pool appropriate. This is what I wish I was doing this weekend!

Ahhh....relaxation

It’s a tough job but someone’s gotta do it! (I don’t sarcastically mean the lounging, I literally mean the painting). I could have (almost did) pay someone else to paint for me but I figured this is one of the few things I can do myself so let’s save some dough.

Can’t wait to share the final room look with you guys! It’s gonna be great! Here’s a sneak peak.

Lamp light on...

Light off...

This is the temporary table. Remember, my rustic table is getting made by my table maker man!

I can’t wait to aim to do something normal next weekend like go to the movies (hello Hunger Games!!) or eat something other than take out! Fingers crossed!

What do you think of the color?  Any suggestions? Leave me a comment with your thoughts!

Have a great rest of the week!

🙂

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Ahh I know it sucks but sooo worth it when you’re done! It looks great, and your chandy is beauuuutiful! Yaaaay!! Pretty wall colors too! And love your umbrella! Lol I want!

    Reply
    • You’re right..now that’s it done, it was worth it! But now I gotta hit up the other rooms! Wahh!

      And the umbrella is from Home Depot! $299, its huge and heavy and comes with cute solar powered lights! Get it!!!
      🙂

      Reply
  2. Jennifer Wylde

     /  March 26, 2012

    It’s good to know that although I don’t speak to or see you every day, I can still be brought up to speed on your painting and remodeling woes. I LOVE the chandelier, great choice! The paint color is pretty and clean…perfect for when you have little ones eating with their hands and using the beautiful walls as spaghetti target practice! Lol. You did a great job, I’m loving watching it all come together 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks!! So glad you love the chandelier…the room really coming together nicely! Can’t wait to show you more pictures next week after the table comes in!
      And thanks for that beautiful visual of my future crazy kids using my carefully designed, chic space for spaghetti target practice. I’m so excited to have those kids now! lol

      Reply
  3. I totally would have come over to help with the painting … If you didn’t live half way to Cuba that is! LOL! I love the color of the room, and the beautiful chandelier! I can’t wait to see this custom table from the table making man 🙂

    Reply
    • Haha…I’m saving your talents for the stripes on the wall! You can get your passport ready and come on down then!
      Can’t wait to share the table either..hopefully table maker man will be done this weekend! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

