Super Food Bowl

Happy National Drag your Butt to Work day everyone! I believe that is the unofficial title of the Monday after the Superbowl. I mean really, I understand Football is traditionally played on Sundays but can’t they make an exception for this final game and play it on a Saturday? Well, I guess traditions are traditions for a reason.

One major Super Bowl tradition is that of the Super Bowl party and the food that comes with it! It seems like chips and dips (and beer, duh) are as essential to SuperBowl Sunday as Turkey is to Thanksgiving. I kept this in mind while preparing the menu for the Super Bowl party I hosted at my house this weekend with family. Though I had lots of hands helping in the kitchen, my biggest helper was Pinterest! You all know what Pinterest is and if you don’t, climb out from under that little rock and go check it out! It’s basically a virtual pinboard where you pin all sorts of ideas, recipes, designs, styles, etc, etc, ETC.!!!

The game plan was to make a some football themed appetizers per some Pinterest inspiration. I kicked it off with a football pizza. How cute does that look?

Well mine looked pretty similar and tasted great!! This really can’t be any easier to make and everyone loves pizza so you can’t go wrong. Final score: Winner! You can get the recipe here from Pillsbury.

Pre Cooked

Cooked!

 Next I decided to tackle some Football Field Guacamole ( I just made that name up). I also got this idea from Pinterest but the original source is a blog named A Little Tipsy. Hers is more of a seven layer dip but I just took the concept and made regular guacamole and spread it out evenly. Then, per my bright 14-year-old niece’s suggestion, put some sour cream in a Ziploc bag, cut a small hole at the end and made an impromptu cake decorating pen to make the yard lines. Put two toothpicks at each end of the field and scored a game winning field goal with this guac!

 

I also decided to tackle some Saucy Asian Meatballs from Gimme Some Oven. They were very easy to make and a whole new twist to meatballs. I hate to admit that while I often make my own batch of delicious meatballs, I usually go the easy route and use frozen meatballs. This time, I used lean ground beef and really got my hands dirty! Aren’t they pretty?!

{Source: Gimme Some Oven}

Full disclosure…I personally wasn’t crazy about them BUT…everyone else seemed to be a big fan! Even my pickiest eaters loved it after they tried it!! I guess I was still expecting a marinara type taste when eating a meatball and the asian sauce kept throwing me off. But that’s just me! My sister actually called me this morning asking me to email her the recipe because her boyfriend loved them so much! Touchdown!

I didn’t want to fumble up the appetizers since that’s the best part so my husband made his can’t-go-wrong, world famous “tomatico” commonly known as Pico de Gallo. It’s equal parts tomato, onion and cilantro. It’s a huge hit, no one can pass it up! I didn’t take a picture of it but it looks a little something like this!

 

Yummo!

Besides the food, the best part of the Super Bowl is the commercials of course! I’m a huge fan of all the funny and creative spots that air during this game. My favorites this year included the Doritos commercial with the dog, the VW commercial with the dog, the Clint Eastwood Chrysler commercial (seriously makes me want to buy American), and of course the Ferris Bueller’s Day Off inspired Honda CRV commercial! I also loved the sandman commercial for Kia and the vampires commercial for Audi.

The food and the commercials are really the best part of the super bowl for me. Even cuties like Eli Manning and Tom Brady aren’t enough to get me excited for a football game all on their own. Someone call me when the Dolphins make it to the Super Bowl and then maybe I’ll watch the game more than my expanding waistline!

What Superbowl food was your favorite? What commercials did you like best? And most importantly, did you catch all my football lingo within the post?

Be a good sport and leave me a comment! (Ok, I’m done)

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Woooow!! Great job! That pizza looks amazeballs!! Yummm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

