Top 10 Places to Wander

 

Image

Love that saying.

Sometimes it’s the smallest things in our homes that reveal the biggest expressions of who we truly are. I am a traveler. Not in reality so much as in my heart…but that’s only a small detail. I believe what I have is referred to as wanderlust- a great desire to travel and rove about. Love Webster’s definition

As with the rest of us, this “hobby” is more of a luxury than an actuality most times but that doesn’t mean a girl can’t daydream. My personal methods for achieving my vacation dreams, whether big or small, include planning for it as much as possible. I plan by researching, saving money throughout the year, building up miles/points on my credit cards, drilling it in my husbands head for days, months, even years, following travel blogs, signing up for travel deal emails (Travelzoo is my favorite) and etc. so that when the opportunity arises, I’m ready!

 

Image

 

A little insignificant piece of decor in my home holds a big piece of my wanderlust spirit. It’s nothing more than a small dry erase board that I believe my brother picked up for me at Big Lots one day after we first moved into our townhouse. One day about 3+ years ago, I decided to make a list on it. Like most of us, I make lists all the time. Things  To Do list, Groceries list, Blog Post Ideas list, New Year Resolutions list, Books to read list, Wish list, Christmas Shopping list, etc.

On this little dry erase board I decided to write my Top 10 Places to go in the Next 3 Years list. Without further ado…here is the list:

 

Image

My only mistake was not writing the exact date on it when I first made the list but I know it was around 3 years go. I was actually able to cross off TWO locations on that list. The biggest and most exciting (and also the most significant one on the list as illustrated by the star next to it) was Paris. After months of planning, harassing my husband, saving, racking up miles and etc…we went to Paris this past November for our 5 year wedding anniversary. It was something I had also wanted to do for my 30th birthday which was in August. I feel so very blessed that we were able to take that amazing, memorable trip.  That little list served as a constant reminder of a goal we had set and a dream we (I) had and it felt damn good to be able to actually reach it.

 

Image

 

Since its a new year and the 3 year anniversary of that list has come and gone, I’ve decided to make a new list. Without further ado, once again, here is the new Top 10 Places to go in the Next 3 years list:

 

Image

 

I’m hoping we can make 1 or more of those places happen but who knows what life has in store for the next couple of years. It doesn’t really matter though because the list will do its job as I look at it from time to time and remind myself that there are still many places left to wander.

 

Image

What location would be a must on your travel list?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Vanessa

     /  February 3, 2012

    Susy! So many things to comment on!
    1. great post – i love Webster’s definition of “wanderlust”. It’s almost poetic.
    2. Love your new list! Feel free to include me in the planning of any of those.
    3. Here are some places on my “travel bucket list” – Panama (this is a new one), Argentina/Brazil (as you know all to well), Portugal, London, and one day….Southeast Asia!

    Reply
  2. Xenia

     /  February 3, 2012

    must say i love this post! i think traveling is something we can all relate to as being something we love, enjoy and get so excited for once the day arrives that we are boarding the flight and/ or cruise etc. oh and i’m definitely going to need your help when i plan my next trip….HAWAII!!!!

    Reply
    • Vanessa

       /  February 3, 2012

      Xen, i wanna go! I wanna go!

      Reply
    • Jennifer Wylde

       /  March 6, 2012

      Shami, I love the new list!! It has places close to home like Chicago (pronounced Chee-cah-go if you’re a Miami native) and more exotic places like Spain and Cartagena. My big trip that I would LOVE to do is South Africa, but that’s a pretty penny (or 10,000,000,0000 pennies). I love that list and love even more hearing that you’re crossing them off.

      Reply
      • Haha. I love your Miami pronunciation for Chicago! One I’m hoping we can cross off the list this year together is Boston!! And I agree, South Africa is definitely a dream vacation as is Australia but since I know I won’t get to those in the next 3 years, I try to stick to more realistic options. You should make a list of your own…so satisfying to cross them off later! 🙂

  1. Favorite Posts of the Week – 2/3 Edition «

Leave a Reply

